KTM and Binder capture first MotoGP Victory

Date posted on August 9, 2020
Share this

Rookie Brad Binder of South Africa has won the Czech GP at the tough Brno Circuit for the factory Red Bull KTM Racing Team.

KTM and Brad Binder are now MotoGP winners!

In only their fourth season in premier MotoGP class, Europe’s biggest motorcycle manufacturer from Austria has won a race in the premiere MotoGP class. It was in September 2014, that Pit Beirer announced that KTM were to start in MotoGP starting from 2017.

MotoGP victory at last for KTM

It was only his 3rd MotoGP race, and Binder is the first rookie to win in the premier class since Marc Marquez.

3rd race, first win in MotoGP for Binder

“I could not believe it! When I saw the chequered flag it was something that I imagined since I was a little boy. I wished my parents were here today. They supported me all my life! My KTM RC16 is unbelievable today. The last 3 laps were really hot and we knew the tires were gone but we managed to hang on,” said Binder after the race.

Mid race, it seems that it was possible for a KTM 1-2 finish as team mate Pol Espargaro was battling for 3rd when a collision with Zarco took him out of the race. It was a racing incident, but subsequently, Zarco was given a long lap penalty.

First MotoGP podium for Morbidelli

Petronas Yamaha SRT’s Franco Morbidelli was second for his first MotoGP podium. Meanwhile, today’s pole winner Johan Zarco of Avintia Ducati was 3rd, his first podium for Ducati.

Zarco’s first podium for Ducati

The team is very happy because I did not expect a top three in just our 3rd race together. Ducati has put big trust in me and the team so thank you! Lucky for me, when I took the long lap penalty, I did not lose so much position,” said Zarco.

At this point last year Zarco was not even sure if he would race this year as he prematurely ended his contract with KTM after not getting to grips with the bike.

KTM’s last year hired recently retired Honda rider Danny Pedrosa to lead the testing and developments and it seems that KTM’s trust in him were rewarded today.

Suzuki’s Alex Rins was fourth while Monster Yamaha’s Valentino Rossi rode to a strong 5th place.

Championship leader Fabio Quartaro held 2nd position until the later part if the race when his tires started to go off. He would slide down the order to finish in 7th place.

A new manufacturer and rider on the center of the MotoGP podium

After dominating in off road racing, KTM decided to enter roadracing in 2003. Initially in the small 125cc GP class then to Moto3, Moto2 and finally MotoGP in 2017. They have now won in every GP category that they have competed in.


1. B. Binder KTM
2. F. Morbidelli Yamaha
3. J. Zarco Ducati
4. Á. Rins Suzuki
5. V. Rossi Yamaha
6. M. Oliveira KTM
7. F. Quartararo Yamaha
8. T. Nakagami
9. J. Miller Ducati
10. A. Espargaró Aprilia
11. A. Dovizioso Ducati
12. D. Petrucci Ducati
13. C. Crutchlow
14. M. Viñales Yamaha
15. Á. Márquez
16. T. Rabat Ducati
17. B. Smith Aprilia
18. S. Bradl
19. P. Espargaró KTM DNF
20. J. Mir Suzuki DNF
21. I. Lecuona KTM DNF

Photos source from Fox Sports, MotoGP and KTM