Date posted on June 25, 2015
Share this

New faces along with riders who are starting to create names and veterans made the first round of the Shell Advance IR Cup Series a success last June 21 at the Carmona Race Track. With the great results of the initial round, anticipation and excitement revs up for the other two legs of the series which aims to help the local motorcycle racing industry grow, hone riders and give them valuable track racing experience.

It was a good race day with categories for scooters (130 Automatic, 160 Automatic, 160 Automatic Elite, KOSO DOHC Cup and FDR 4V Automatic Cup), underbones (115 Open Underbone and 150 Open Underbone) and backbones (135 2V and 180 2V/4V). Honda Philippines once again participated with one make races using Honda BeAT and Honda Dash motorcycles. It was also the third round of the 2015 Shell Advance MotoIR Championship Presented by Honda.

Young Amber Torres was the winner of the Honda BeAT race for Beginner and Novice riders. The future surely looks bright for this kid who started racing pocketbikes. Joining him in the podium were Mark Kelvin Talavera and Maiko Adapon.

Amber Torres

Honda BeAT winners – Mark Kelvin Talavera, Amber Torres and Maiko Adapon with Mr. Lloyd Garces of Honda Philippines and InsideRACING’s Mr. Al Camba

The Honda Dash race for Beginner, Novice and Intermediate racers was also won by a young rider, Niel Jan Centeno of MBF-Motomeka-YRS. Carlo Calderon and Van Ruedas placed second and third.

Niel Jan Centeno

Honda Dash winners – Carlo Calderon, Niel Jan Centeno and Van Ruedas

Maiko Adapon of Team ASV is consistent in his winning form this year and he clinched the victory in the 130 Automatic class for Beginner, Novice and Intermediate riders. Ellijah Olayvar and Edward Roman finished second and third.

130 Automatic grid

130 Automatic winners – Ellijah Olayvar, Maiko Adapon and Edward Roman

Romer Corbe of Gulf Racing took the checkered flag in the 160 Automatic race which had the biggest grid that day with 18 participants. The race featured Beginner, Novice and Intermediate riders. Edward Godoy of MTRT-Rider55-MLW was second and Michael Cortez finished third.

160 Automatic grid

160 Automatic winners – John Edward Godoy, Romer Corbe and Michael Cortez

Despite starting at the back of the grid, Cassey Ng once again proved his expertise in riding scooters by winning the 160 Automatic Elite race. Dustin Esguerra and Paul Mark Doblada joined Ng in the rostrum. Ng went home with a double win as he also triumphed in the FDR 4V Automatic Cup wherein Esguerra and Doblada once again were the runner-ups.

160 Automatic Elite and FDR 4V Automatic Cup winners – Dustin Esguerra, Cassey Ng and Paul Mark Doblada

Alan Suansing emerged victorious over Manny Manata Jr. in the KOSO DOHC Cup. Manata, however had the fastest lap time of the race.

KOSO DOHC Cup winners – Manny Manata Jr. and Alan Suansing with Mr. Kempee Ang of KOSO

Riders of Liqui Moly-YY Pang-RK-Nibbi Racing Team – Lorenz Villanueva and James Amporias, delivered a 1-2 finish in the 115 Open Underbone class. Carlo Calderon crossed the finish line third.

James Amporias and Lorenmar Villanueva

115 Open Underbone winners – James Amporias, Lorenmar Villanueva and Carlo Calderon

Team Spec V continues in displaying dominance as Masato Fernando led an all Spec V podium with teammates James Mendez and John Emerson Inguito in the 150 Open Underbone race. The team is also currently doing well in the FDR Philippine Scooter Racing and FDR Philippine Underbone King Championships.

Team Spec V riders leading the 150 Open Underbone race

Mr. Peter Yung of FDR with 150 Open Underbone winners – James Mendez, Masato Fernando and John Emerson Inguito

In the Backbone race, Jacq Buncio was the winner in the 135 2V class while Lorenz Villanueva was victorious in the 180 2v category.

135 2V Backbone winner – Jacq Buncio

180 2V Backbone winner – Lorenmar Villanueva

The 2015 IR Cup Series is supported by Shell Advance, FDR, KOSO, Honda BeAT, Honda Dash, Shield Helmets, Faito, Racing Boy, Dunlop and Sum Racing and its media partners are Motorsiklo Xklusibo, MCP, Stoplight TV, The Racing Line, Pinoy Speed, InsideRACING, Maximum Torque and IRTV. It is sanctioned by the Unified Sports and Racing Association for Motorcycles, Inc. (USRA).

The second round is on July 26, 2015 at the Carmona Race Track.