Championship Defense, Title Chase Welcomes Yamaha PH in 2020 ARRC

Date posted on March 7, 2020
Share this

It seems as if it was just yesterday that Kyle Paz made history in the FIM Asia Road Racing Championship and became the first Filipino to win a Championship in the annual tourney. But that was last year and it’s time for the 2020 season where the stakes just got higher. The VR46 master camp alum has stepped up to the SS600 category and will have to showcase his wares again to a new roster of foes. He will be challenged by 2018 Champion, RatthapongWilairot of Yamaha Thailand racing Team who produced the last 2 Champion riders in the SS600 category. It won’t be a walk in the park for ‘The Wonder Boy’ but it’s a challenge that he will do everything to overcome. He is racing with the number 321 for Yamaha Gen Blu Racing Team.

McKinley Kyle Paz

The UB150 championship defense is in the hands of Masato Fernando who will anchor the UMA Racing Yamaha Philippines team. Fernando also had an impressive campaign with multiple podium finishes and overall 6th place in the 2019 season.

Masato Fernando

“The Chairman” will race alongside newcomer Kerwin Chang; the youngster will be tested in his first season in the competition and he is eager to showcase his abilities. They will be given a tough time by the talented Akid Aziz of UMA Racing Yamaha Maju Motor Asia Team who only finished 2 points behind Paz for the championship. Akid’s teammate, HaziqFairues, will also be a strong contender after finishing 3rd overall.

Kerwin Chang

J.E. ‘The Hitman” Inguito will finally make his full season debut after a wildcard appearance. He will race for 4S1M Yamaha Racing Team and is looking to make an impression this season.

John Emerson Inguito with Mr. Mark Tan

With a new season upon us, these riders and their racing teams are in full gear for the opener. The results of all their training will be in the spotlight on March 7-8 and it will be a race that you won’t want to miss.

The teams are supported by:

Yamaha Motor Philippines,Inc., UMA Racing,Gen Blu Energy Drink, Racing Boy,

Aracer,Proliner,Youall,Galfer,Nasty Port Flow, Koso, NGK, RK, SECMotosupply, and SPRS.

*The 2020 FIM ARRC will be shown live by the ARRC and will be shared through the Yamaha Motor Philippines Facebook page. The UB150 race starts 1:10PM and the SS600 race starts at 2:45PM on both race days.

Words by: Yamaha Motor Philippines