FIM Asia Continental Supercross Final Round Philippines!

Date posted on November 24, 2010
Share this

Philippines motocross enthusiasts are in for a treat for three straight weekends when NAMSSA hosts motocross events in succession that will culminate with the final round of the 2010 FIM Asian Supercross Championship Series at the Speedworld MX Circuit in SM City Mall in Bicutan on December 12.2010 The series is an annual event that pits the national champion riders from Asian nations under the FIM Asian continental union for the continental title.

The three-weekend motofest takes off at the Speedworld MX Circuit in SM Bicutan on Sunday November 28, with Round 11 of the 2010 NAMSSA National Motocross Series. The races mark the penultimate round of the longest
running national motorcycle event in the country where national titles in over 10 individual categories are disputed including the much coveted Philippines Champion – National Motocross Rider of the Year title. Action swings up to Palayan City in Nueva Ecija on December 5 when the city hosts the 2010 Mayor Romeo V. Capinpin Motocross Cup, an invitational motocross event that dangles cash prizes and trophies for the winners in the various categories. The Palayan event will also serve as the final tune-up race of the Philippine Motocross team competing in the Asian MX finals.

3-time Motocross Rider of the Year Kenneth San Andres leads the stellar cast of local riders competing in the events. San Andres who is a cinch to clinch his fourth straight ROY title will find his toughest challenge from Migi Tolentino and the grizzled multi-titled veteran Jolet Jao who are currently 2nd and 3rd in the Pro 125 – MX2 Pro Lites scoreboard. San Andres is currently 5th in the Asian championships where the frontrunner is Japanese ace rider Tomoya “Kamikaze” Suzuki who has 142 markers after three rounds held in the Philippines and Iran. Not far behind him are the “Mongolian Express” Khaliunbold Erdenbileg and Iran’s “Amir of Motocross” Ami Reza Sabetifar who tote scores of 136 and 124 points respectively. With still two motos to run, the Asian title in the centerpiece MX2 class remains a toss up among the three riders. Meanwhile, the Philippines’ Jerrick Mitra will formally clinch the title in the FIM Asian Junior 85 event which he leads with an insurmountable score of 150 points in three rounds. Mitra is expected to get his competition from Guam’s Troy Corpuz and Jacob Einloth.

The series’ Philippine rounds are organized by the National Motorcycle Sports and Safety Association (NAMSSA). NAMSSA is the national sporting authority for motorcycle sports recognized by both the Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) and the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) and the only local federation recognized and affiliated with the Federation International de Motocyclisme (FIM), the world governing body for
motorcycle sports.

“This year’s FIM Asian MX/SX Series is the most exciting we’ve seen in years,” said concurrent NAMSSA and FIM Asia President Stephan Carpiet who will be overseeing the event along with several FIM-accredited stewards and international observers. “We are happy with the way things are turning out for motocross in the region. The riders competing in our series are on their way to being world class. In a few more years, we hope to see an Asian rider making it to the podium in USA and world championship events. For more information, visit or call 09178479785.