Inguito, Paz, Fernando, Mauricio, Barcial, Chang and Suba Pole Position Winners in IRGPXII!

Date posted on November 25, 2018
Share this

The 12th Annual Phoenix PULSE Technology InsideRACING Grand Prix (IRGPXII) had its qualifying on November 24 and riders were all out for the coveted pole position in each race class of the prestigious event. Veteran riders and familiar names dominated the qualifying day and from their lap times, the battle in the races on November 25 is sure to be another memorable and exciting one.



The IRGP was organized by InsideRACING since 2007 and it is the celebrated and much anticipated underbone and scooter racing event in the country every year.

Three-time Philippine Underbone King (2014, 2015 and 2018) John Emerson “The Hitman” Inguito of 4S1M-Yamaha once again showcased his underbone riding skills as he got the pole position in the YSS Suspension Masters Trophy (Open Underbone) and ENEOS Premium Motor Oil Juniors Elite Trophy (150 Underbone) classes. The Masters Trophy is battled by veteran underbone riders while the Juniors Elite Trophy also features top underbone racers in the country today. Inguito from Cainta, Rizal has set a new underbone lap time record at the Carmona Race Track with his best qualifying lap time in the Juniors Elite Trophy.


John Emerson Inguito of 4S1M-Yamaha


Also taking two pole positions was Phoenix Cyclomax Powered by Yamaha-KOSO-Faito racing team’s McKinley Kyle “Wonder Boy” Paz. The rider from Taytay, Rizal got the first grid positions in the NGK Spark Plugs Automatic Elite Trophy (160 Automatic) and Castrol Power 1 Underbone Grand Prix (150 Underbone EFI), showing his riding prowess in both scooter and underbone.


McKinley Kyle Paz of Phoenix Cyclomax Powered by Yamaha, KOSO and Faito


John Paul Suba, another rider who races for Phoenix-Yamaha-KOSO-Faito, topped the qualifying of the Top 1 Action Matic Juniors Trophy. Unfortunately, Suba crashed in the second session but his lap time in the first one is good enough for him to get the pole position of the said class.


John Paul Suba of Phoenix-Yamaha-KOSO-Faito


Sean Barcial, the fourth racer in the renowned Barcial family from Balagtas, Bulacan in local racing, got the pole position in the NCY Automatic Trophy (160 Automatic). Sean races for Redspeed-ZIC-JCS racing team in IRGPXII.


Sean Barcial of Redspeed-ZIC-JCS


Just like last year, JVT racing team’s Gian Carlo Mauricio from Binangonan, Rizal clinched the first grid position in the Shell Advance Automatic GP (180 Automatic) category. Mauricio was not able to beat his record last year but he still established the fastest scooter lap time record in this year’s IRGP. The JVT rider was the 2018 Philippine Scooter Racing 180cc Open champion.


Gian Carlo Mauricio of JVT


Yamaha-Spec V racer Kerwin Chang won the battle for the pole position in the Phoenix Cyclomax USRA Super Underbone Trophy (150 Underbone) class. Chang who hails from Cainta, Rizal is the 2018 Philippine Underbone King Championships’ Novice class champion.


Kerwin Chang of Yamaha-Spec V


“The Chairman” Masato Fernando of Yamaha-Spec V will start on pole position of the PTT Lubricants MotoIR GP (MotoIR1, MotoIR2 and MotoIR3). Fernando was the champion in the 2017 season of the MotoIR Championship. The MotoIR 1 is battled by expert riders. The MotoIR2 features intermediate riders and in pole position in that class this IRGPXII is Robert Ryan Espiritu of 4S1M-Yamaha, the 2018 MotoIR2 season champion. MotoIR3 polesitter is Fernando’s teammate Kerwin Chang who will battle with fellow novice and beginner riders in their class.


Masato Fernando with Yamaha-Spec V manager Mr. Jojo Alojado (left) and mechanic Mr. JayR Cambaog (right)


These polesitters will once again clash with tough competitors on race day, November 25, and they will race for history as the IRGPXII is the last IRGP held at the old layout of the Carmona Race Track which will afterwards. All records in the qualifying and race of IRGPXII will remain forever.

The 12th Annual Phoenix PULSE Technology InsideRACING Grand Prix is sanctioned by USRA (Unified Sports and Racing Association for Motorcycles, Inc.). Official fuel of the event is Phoenix Premium 98 and official tire is FDR Tires. Class sponsors are Castrol Power 1, Shell Advance, Phoenix Cyclomax, YSS Suspension, Top 1 Action Matic, NGK Spark Plugs, NCY, ENEOS Premium Oil and PTT Lubricants. Pole Position award sponsor is Zebra Helmet while Fastest Race Lap award sponsor is Motoworld.  JVT is the Fastest Privateer award sponsor. Phoenix Petroleum, FDR and class and award sponsors have booths and are are selling their products at the event as well as brands and companies such as VS1, Mototek, Spyder, Triumph JT Marketing, KOSO, OKM Racing, Racing Boy, Motoactive, 4S1M, Metzeler Tires, Faito, Pertua Oil, ZENEOS Tires and KOBY PH. The Manufacturers Award in IRGPXII is sponsored by MDAP (Motorcycle Dealers Association of the Philippines). IRGPXII partners are InsideRACING, IRTV, Maximum TORQUE, The Racing Line, Motosiklo Xklusibo and the Motorcycle Development Program Participants Association (MDPPA).