IR News: Lorenzo Clinches His First Win of the Season; Centeno and Laoyan Winners Again

Date posted on September 1, 2018

Gerson Lorenzo showed his consistency and that led him to taking his first race win in this year’s Supersport 200 series Beginner/Novice class. After constantly being on the podium, he finally got his well-deserved first race win at the Clark International Speedway last August 5, 2018.



It wasn’t easy though. Compatriot Duke Montano was close by and was giving Lorenzo a tough time when “The Soldier” had problems with his brake that caused him to overshoot in the 4th lap. From then on, it was smooth sailing for Gerson “Baby Rasta” Lorenzo as he held on to the lead and never looked back to gain the all- important 25 points that catapulted him to the top of the championship standings. On board his KTM 200 Duke, Lorenzo finished the race in 18:29.891s, a clear 23 seconds faster than 2nd placer and first time podium finisher  Marvin Vince Cuarte who rode a KTM RC 200. 3rd place was snagged by Jerick Pascua on board his Kawasaki NS200. The win puts Gerson Lorenzo on top of the leaderboard and he is in a good position to win the first ever Supersports 200 Championship crown while Montano looks to catch up with him with only 2 rounds remaining. Other finishers in the race include John Rey Escala, Jan Michael Aguirre, and Marion Sabido.


Gerson “Baby Rasta” Lorenzo (17) and Duke “The Soldier” Montano (46)

Supersports 200 Round 4 winners (L-R: Jerick Pascua – 3rd, Gerson Lorenzo – 1st and Marvin Vince Cuarte – 2nd) with Mr. Al Camba of InsideRACING


In the Supersports 200 Elite Class, Niel Jan Centeno on his Yamaha TFX was on his usual dominant self as he made quick work of Fidgi Ibasco. Centeno won by a clear 21 seconds, with the race result already obvious by the 2nd lap.


Niel Jan Centeno

Supersports 200 Elite Round 4 winners – Niel Jan Centeno (1st) and Fidgi Ibasco (2nd)


Melchor Laoyan bagged his 3rd straight win in the Supersports 150.


Melchor Laoyan – Supersports 150 class winner

IR Supersports Championships point standings as of Round 4


Watch out for the last 2 rounds of the season as the races get more and more exciting as we reach the homestretch. Next race is slated on September 2 at the Batangas Racing Circuit. The Supersports Championships is organized by InsideRACING and sanctioned by USRA.


See also

Industry News

A Decade of Victory and Racing Excellence for Yamaha PH

Date posted on February 3, 2020
Industry News

Yamaha GP 10 Finals Will Rev New Carmona Track

Date posted on February 17, 2020
Industry News

Razgatlioglu fastest after day one of the Phillip Island Official Test

Date posted on February 25, 2020
Industry News

Suzuki Raider J Crossover Launched!

Date posted on February 19, 2020
Industry News

SAGA Motors Opens Suzuki 3S Shop in Ozamis, Misamis Occidental

Date posted on January 16, 2020
Industry News

Kawasaki Krib in Calamba Opened by Wheeltek

Date posted on February 14, 2020
Skip to toolbar