IR News: Paz Gets Up First and Wins New IRGP Underbone Class

Date posted on November 23, 2017
Share this

McKinley Kyle Paz of Phoenix Cyclomax-Yamaha-KOSO-Faito and Gian Carlo Mauricio of JVT put up a great show for racing fans in the Unioil Juniors Underbone Elite Trophy of the IRGPXI.


Unioil Juniors Underbone Elite Trophy grid


Mauricio led the race and seemed to have had a breakaway but Paz was able to chase him after some laps. Before that, Paz, John Emerson Inguito of 4S1M-Yamaha and Suzuki riders Eane Jaye Sobretodo and April King Mascardo were battling behind Mauricio.

Paz and Mauricio, the two top riders now who started their careers in pocketbike racing, took turns in leading the race and had a thrilling race for the win. In the last lap, Paz was in the lead and Mauricio was tailing him when both of them crashed. It was now a race to remount first and it was Paz who was able to do so. The Phoenix Cyclomax-Yamaha-KOSO-Faito rider crossed the finish line first to the delight of the crowd who enjoyed the unpredictable scenario. Mauricio finished second while Inguito took the third place.


McKinley Kyle Paz

L-R: Gian Carlo Mauricio, McKinley Kyle Paz and John Emerson Inguito

Unioil Juniors Underbone Elite Trophy results:


Unioil Juniors Underbone Elite Trophy
1st – McKinley Kyle Paz (Phoenix Cyclomax-Yamaha-KOSO-Faito
2nd – Gian Carlo Mauricio (JVT)
3rd – John Emerson Inguito (4S1M Yamaha)

Zebra Helmet Pole Position – Gian Carlo Mauricio
Motoworld Fastest Race Lap – McKinley Kyle Paz
JVT Fastest Privateer – Gian Carlo Mauricio
Manufacturer Award – Yamaha Motor Philippines


Unioil Juniors Underbone Elite Trophy race result

Race bikes of top three finishers


The Phoenix Premium 98 IRGPXI is sanctioned by the Unified Sports and Racing Association for Motorcycles, Inc. (USRA).

Full report in InsideRACING Magazine.