IR News: Super Honda Race in Cavite Ends with an Awesome Photo Finish

Date posted on October 20, 2017
Share this

A thrilling Super Honda race was witnessed at the Carmona Race Track last October 8. 11 riders battled in a 10-lap race.


Start of the Super Honda race


Josh Tan took the early lead. Clifford Bacus of FaderN’Sun racing team got in front after some laps followed by Dustin Esguerra and JVT’s Gian Carlo Mauricio. Esguerra was overtaken by Mauricio and the JVT rider then went on to chase Bacus. Mauricio was able to get the lead but after doing so, Esguerra overtakes both him and Bacus to the delight and amazement of the crowd.


Bacus (10), Tan (08) and Esguerra (01) in the lead pack

Esguerra leading the race followed by Mauricio and Bacus


The three were tight up until the checkered flag which resulted into a remarkable photo finish. It was Clifford Bacus who won the exciting race with only a 0.031s margin of victory over second placer Esguerra and 0.208s over third placer Mauricio.


Bacus, Esguerra and Mauricio in a photo finish

Super Honda Cavite GP winners – Clifford Bacus (1), Dustin Esguerra (2) and Gian Carlo Mauricio (3). With them are Ms. Recca Menchavez of Pilipinas Shell (4th from left), Mr. Jong Uy of The Racing Line (3rd from left), Mr. Al Camba of InsideRACING (rightmost) and Honda Philippines’ Mr. Gilbert Sison (2nd from right) and Mr.Luis Francisco (5th from left).


Tan finished fourth followed by Sean Barcial, Wyner Blente, Leeandro Paredes and Sylvester Ramirez who travelled all the way from Cebu. Erika Ondillo, the only female rider in the race, finished ninth. Janjan Oseo placed tenth while James Barcial ended up at 11th place.


Super Honda Round 7 race result


Esguerra who hails from Taytay, Rizal, leads the Super Honda overall point standings going to the final round this October 22 at the Cebu Kartzone. The Super Honda category is battled by riders on board Honda RS150 motorcycles provided by Honda Philippines.

The Super Honda category is part of the Shell Advance Super Series Nationwide Championships Fueled by Shell V-Power. The Super Series which is now on its second year is supported by Shell Advance, Shell V-Power, Honda Philippines, Suzuki Philippines, FDR Tires, IRC Tires and CST Tires. It is sanctioned by the Unified Sports and Racing Association for Motorcycles, Inc. (USRA) and organized by InsideRACING and The Racing Line.

Full report on InsideRACING Magazine’s Volume 15 Number 10 issue.


See also

Notice: Undefined variable: tag_arr in /home/iruser/web/ on line 239
Industry News

Ducati VIP Night at The Podium

Date posted on February 25, 2020
Industry News

Suzuki Raider R150 Dominating the Racetrack

Date posted on February 11, 2020
Industry News

Suzuki Raider J Crossover Launched!

Date posted on February 19, 2020
Industry News

The new Filipino-inspired BeAT in Philippine craftsmanship

Date posted on February 22, 2020
Industry News

4th Mindanao Tribute Ride/ WDoR Mindanao

Date posted on February 18, 2020
Industry News

Yamaha GP 10 Finals Will Rev New Carmona Track

Date posted on February 17, 2020