IR News: Yamaha GP 8 Holds Finale at Quirino Parade Grounds; VisMin Riders Shine

Date posted on September 13, 2017
Share this

Yamaha Motor Philippines had the grand finals of their Yamaha GP 8 at the Quirino Parade Grounds in Manila last September 9. It was a successful event that drew many spectators who witnessed the top riders from all over the country battle for the championship title and the chance to race internationally as part of Team Yamaha Pilipinas.



The latest offerings of Yamaha Motor Philippines were exhibited at the event and this included the Yamaha Sight 115cc moped which boasts of fuel efficiency. The motoring media was able to test ride the Yamaha Sight. Also on display were other motorcycle models of Yamaha Motor Philippines.


The New Yamaha Sight 115cc


Rain poured hard in the afternoon but it did not stop spectators and participants in the grand finals. The races were held until night and the crowd was treated to spectacular racing action from the best riders in Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao who have competed in the previous legs of Yamaha GP 8.



Yamaha Motor Philippines’ executive led by their President Mr. Toru Osugi were present at the event. Entertainment was provided by the Sexbomb Dancers New Generation.


Yamaha Motor Philippines’ President Mr. Toru Osugi (3rd from right) and other executives of the manufacturer

Luzon racers Masato Fernando and McKinley Kyle Paz on the Yamaha Sniper 150 and Yamaha Sight

L-R: Masato Fernando, Mr. Ryan Jude Camus (YMPH Marketing Section Senior Manager), Mr. Toru Osugi (YMPH President), Mr. Kaoru Ogura (YMPH Sales and Marketing Director) and McKinley Kyle Paz

Sexbomb Dancers New Generation


The Yamaha GP 8 finals had 9 race classes. The Sight 115, Vega Force 115 and Sniper 150 categories had 2 races each and the overall champions and members of Team Yamaha Pilipinas were taken in these classes. Other race categories were the Underbone FI Fun Race, Automatic FI Fun Race and 160 Open.



Kenneth Coronel won the Automatic FI Fun race while Garry Tapiador was victorious in the Underbone FI Fun race class. Miko Montano dominated the 160 Open category.


Automatic FI Fun race winners

Underbone FI Fun race winners

160 Open race winners


The Sight 115, Vega 115 and Sniper 150 races were indeed thrilling and action-packed. Gian Carlo Mauricio was unstoppable in the Yamaha Sight 115 class as he won both races of the said category.  Second overall was John Paul Lantape and third overall was Clint Jay Sande.


Yamaha Sight 115 Race 1 winners

Yamaha Sight 115 Race 2 winners

Yamaha Sight 115 overall winners


Vingie Coloma and MacDon Sande split wins in the Yamaha Vega Force 115 category.  Sande was the overall champion. Coloma was second overall and third overall was Masato Fernando.


Yamaha Vega Force 115 Race 1 winners

Yamaha Vega Force 115 Race 2 winners

Yamaha Vega Force 115 overall winners


Ephraim Onahon reigned in both Yamaha Sniper races. Garry Cañeda placed second overall and Dan Carlos was third overall. Ernie Daguio Jr. from Davao was also remarkable as he placed third in Race 2 of the Yamaha Sniper class.


Yamaha Sniper 150 Race 1 winners

Yamaha Sniper 150 Race 2 winners

Yamaha Sniper 150 overall winners


9 riders (Gian Carlo Mauricio and Masato Fernando from Luzon, Garry Cañeda and John Paul Lantape from Cebu, Vingie Coloma from Davao and Ephraim Onahon, MacDon Dave Sande, Clint Jay Sande and Dan Carlos from Bukidnon) now comprise Team Yamaha Pilipinas and Yamaha Motor Philippines will send them to international race events in the coming months. 2 of them will race in the FIM Asia Road Racing Championship (ARRC). It was an impressive performance from riders from Visayas and Mindanao as they showed their skills and talent here in Luzon.


Yamaha GP 8 overall winners


The Yamaha GP is a race event of Yamaha Motor Philippines which goes to different parts of the country in search of champion riders who will represent the country. The event also showcases the performance of Yamaha motorcycles in racing.