IR Update: Masato Fernando wins 2nd Underbone King title; Ellijah Olayvar and James Barcial are season champs.

Date posted on October 6, 2016
Share this

Masato “The Chairman” Fernando of Yamaha – Spec V capped off an impressive season with an emphatic final round win in the 150cc open on his way to capturing the title in the 2016 FDR Underbone King Championships. Momentum was on his side as Masato made short work off teammates John Emerson Inguito and James Mendez in winning 5 out of 6 races this year on his way to being at the top once again. It was a satisfying final round win for him as this all but ensured that he will get back the title he had previously. And with that, The Chairman is now a 2-time Underbone King! Equally impressive is the fact that claiming the 2nd and 3rd spot in the season standings are none other than his teammates Inguito and Mendez.

The 115cc open class saw the emergence of James Barcial. He was consistent in all his races en route to winning the season title. Barcial won 3 of the 6 races in the season while getting a podium slot in 5 of them. Mckinley Kyle Paz meanwhile gave Barcial a challenge as he won the final round at the Clark International Speedway although his total point standing ended up short. Barcial ended the season with 133 points with Paz finishing with 121.5. Vrei Ar Suba ended up with 121 points to finish third over-all.

In the 115cc Novice Class, Ellijah Olayvar won the over-all title convincingly with 162.5 points and a commanding 23.5 point lead over second placer Jacq Buncio. Edward Godoy finished third place with a total of 105 points.

The 2016 Underbone King Championship is presented by FDR.