Date posted on November 28, 2013
Share this

Since its groundbreaking premiere in 2007, the Annual InsideRACING Grand Prix (IRGP) has been the most celebrated underbone and scooter race event in the country. The IRGP gathers the major players in the motorcycle industry as well as legions of motorcycle racing fans in a day filled with excitement, glamour, drama and glory on two wheels.

This year’s Motolite IRGP7 held on November 17 was another historical event for the Philippine racing scene as for the first time since its six-year history, the biggest and most prestigious annual race was broadcasted live which gave IRGP aficionados the chance to watch the event even though they are far from the Carmona Race Track in Cavite. Aside from the additional exposure, the IRGP7 also drew more spectators than last year’s IRGP6 which proves that our very own grand prix event is getting better and bigger each year. The IRGP7 was also successful in terms of the number of participants as a total of 115 entries and 67 riders vied for supremacy in the seven categories of the event. Another highlight of the IRGP7 is the participation of foreign riders from Thailand, Taiwan and Australia. Three manufacturers (Honda, Yamaha and TVS) also took part in IRGP7.

Just like their successful campaign in IRGP6, MTRT (Motorcycle Taipei Research Team) was again the winningest team in IRGP7 as four riders from the orange team clinched championships. Fifteen-year-old Robert Matthew Ramos who raced for Honda-MTRT emerged victorious in the Top 1 Action Matic Juniors Automatic Trophy 130 class while expert riders Cassey Ng (NGK Spark Plugs Automatic Trophy 160) and James Barcial (Shell Advance Automatic GP 180), who both bannered Yamaha Motor Ace-MTRT-Takeshi, excelled in their respective classes. Not to be left were Honda-MTRT’s Paul Mark Doblada and young Koko Tadachi. Doblada snagged the Denso Spark Plugs MotoIR Grand Prix which was only his debut in the one make MotoIR Championship. Tadachi likewise was impressive in his first MotoIR race as he won the MotoIR2 category and the thirteen-year-old also sealed the victory in the Phoenix Cyclomax Juniors Trophy 115 class.

Another team which showed that they are in fine form was Team JVT Scooters as their star rider John Lery Enriquez prevailed in the Gulf Pride 4T Masters Trophy (Open Underbone) class. Also proving that his team is a force to be reckoned with in motorcycle racing was NHK Racing’s Herbert Lopez who dominated the Castrol Power 1 Underbone GP 130 class.

The 7th Annual InsideRACING Grand Prix was possible with the support of Motolite Motorcycle Batteries (title sponsor), FDR Tire (official IRGP7 Underbone Tire), Castrol Power 1, Denso Spark Plugs, Top 1 Action Matic Synthetic Oil, Gulf Pride 4T, Shell Advance Motorcycle Oils, NGK Spark Plugs, Phoenix Cyclomax Motorcycle Oils, Zebra Helmets (Pole Position Award sponsor), LS2 Helmets (Fastest Race Lap Award sponsor), NHK Helmets (Fastest Privateer Award sponsor), Triumph JT Marketing Corp., VS1 Mototek, Spyder Helmets, JVT Performance Parts, Racing Boy, KYT Helmets, MTRT, KBC Performance Helmets and RK Racing Chain & Sprocket. Partners of the event were MCP, Motorsiklo Xklusibo, Stoplight TV, Pinoy Xtreme Channel, Pinoy Speed, Inside Motoring, The Racing Line, InsideRACING TV and Stat Med Ambulance Service. The Underbone and Scooter Racing Association (USRA) sanctioned the IRGP7. The live broadcast was presented by Castrol Power 1 with partners Motoworld, KYT, FDR, NHK and Racing Boy. IRGP7 Live was broadcasted by the Pinoy Xtreme Channel and was powered by Stoplight TV.

IRGP7 Results:
Top 1 Action Matic Juniors Automatic Trophy (130 Scooter)
Champion: Robert Matthew Ramos (Honda-MTRT)
1st Runner-up: Jacob Navarro (Chitang’s/NHK Racing)
2nd Runner-up: Koko Tadachi (Honda-MTRT)

Gulf Pride 4T Masters Trophy (Open Underbone)
Champion: John Lery Enriquez (JVT Scooters)
1st Runner-up: John Emerson Inguito (NHK Racing)
2nd Runner-up: Tracy Soyangco (Replica Pro)

Phoenix Cyclomax Juniors Trophy (115 Underbone)
Champion: Koko Tadachi (Honda-MTRT)
1st Runner-up: Romer Corbe (Spec V)
2nd Runner-up: Hajime Tadachi (NHK Racing)

NGK Spark Plugs Automatic Trophy (160 Scooter)
Champion: Cassey Ng (Yamaha Motor Ace-MTRT-Takeshi)
1st Runner-up: Dustin Esguerra (MLW Racing)
2nd Runner-up: James Barcial (Yamaha Motor Ace-MTRT-Takeshi)

Castrol Power 1 Underbone Grand Prix (130 Underbone)
Champion: Herbert Lopez (NHK Racing)
1st Runner-up: Ralph Kenneth Torres (Honda-MTRT)
2nd Runner-up: Anthony Roman (Castrol-Dudshop)

Shell Advance Automatic Grand Prix (180 Scooter)
Champion: James Barcial (Yamaha Motor Ace-MTRT-Takeshi)
1st Runner-up: Cassey Ng (Yamaha Motor Ace-MTRT-Takeshi)
2nd Runner-up: Paul Mark Doblada (MTRT)

Denso Spark Plugs MotoIR GP
Champion: Paul Mark Doblada (Honda-MTRT)
1st Runner-up: Anthony Roman (Castrol-Dudshop)
2nd Runner-up: Rizaldy Canare (Replica Pro)
MotoIR2 Champion: Koko Tadachi (Honda-MTRT)

See also

Industry News

Motorcycle City Opens Kawasaki Krib in Quezon City

Date posted on February 4, 2020
Industry News

Ducati VIP Night at The Podium

Date posted on February 25, 2020
Industry News

The new Filipino-inspired BeAT in Philippine craftsmanship

Date posted on February 22, 2020
Industry News

BMW G 310 GS Media Trail Ride to Tanay

Date posted on February 7, 2020
Industry News

Momentous Victory for Gab Valenciano and Suzuki-Wheeltek

Date posted on January 4, 2020
Industry News

Kawasaki Krib in Calamba Opened by Wheeltek

Date posted on February 14, 2020
Skip to toolbar