“The Hitman” Validates Underbone King Title

Date posted on September 28, 2020
Share this

John Emerson Inguito won his fourth Philippine Underbone King title in 2019. He has won the underbone Masters Trophy race of IRGPXIII and as if that wasn’t enough, the Yamaha-4S1M rider proved his highly regarded underbone racing prowess once more with a well-deserved victory in the Castrol Power1 Underbone EFI GP.

It was not an easy race for Inguito as he was challenged by fellow expert riders Vrei-ar Suba and Tracy Soyangco in the 13-lap race, but Inguito showed consistency and control over the situations as he secured the first position and crossed the finish line first, gave his Yamaha-4S1M team its second IRGPXIII title and Yamaha Motor Philippines another Manufacturers Award. Suba who raced for Phoenix-Yamaha-SEC pursued Inguito till the checkered flag and it was a good second place finish for him. Both riders raced on Yamaha Sniper race bikes. Suba submitted the 1:06.334s best lap time of the race. Soyangco who spearheaded JVT-Honda’s campaign in the Underbone EFI category of the IRGPXIII delighted his team with a third place result. Seeing Soyangco and the Honda RS150 fight for the win was thrilling indeed.

Phoenix-Yamaha-SEC rider John Paul Suba finished fourth. Kerwin Chang of Yamaha-4S1M placed fifth followed by teammate Robert Ryan Espiritu and Indonesian rider Rere Depok of JVT racing team who won the Fastest Privateer award. Eighth placer was Paul Mark Doblada of Faito-Yamaha. JVT-Honda’s Gian Carlo Mauricio finished ninth while Faito-Yamaha’s Amber Torres settled for tenth place. Suzuki-VMan’s Eane Jaye Sobretodo had an eleventh place finish. Niño Fabian of JVT-GSD-Motocorsa, Team Motocorsa’s Tracy Gaddi and Eljin Renz Lobarbio of Motortrade-RSV-ENEOS-SGK-Pitsbike ECU finished twelfth, thirteenth and fourteenth, respectively. Niel Jan Centeno of Phoenix-Yamaha-SEC placed fifteenth while Lobarbio’s teammate Ellijah Olayvar crossed the finish line sixteenth. Centeno’s teammate Joey Punio ended up at seventeenth place. Three riders were not able to finish the race and these were Motokoloso’s Cloud Cedrick Montero, Malaysian rider Amirul of JVT-Honda and Suzuki-VMan’s April King Mascardo.

Truly, when it comes to underbone racing, John Emerson Inguito has cemented his status as king. He and Yamaha-4S1M has a victorious collaboration for years now and they are now ready to conquer the Asian racing scene as Inguito is one of the participants in the Underbone 150 class of the Asia Road Racing Championship.

L-R: Vrei-ar Suba, John Emerson Inguito and Tracy Soyangco

This was published in InsideRACING Magazine’s 2020 Volume 18 Number 1 issue

Thank you for visiting insideracing.com.ph. You may express your thought below through the comment section. You may also follow us on Facebook, on Instagram @Insideracingnation or on our YouTube channel.

See also


HPI Announces the cancellation of the 2020 Honda Pilipinas Dream Cup

Date posted on July 16, 2020
Bike Reviews

2014 Ducati Diavel First Ride Review: Unlike Any Other

Date posted on October 17, 2020
Industry News

Suzuki Motorcycles Opens its 57th 3S Shop with Cyclemar in Caloocan

Date posted on March 20, 2021

Up close with the factory Ducati Panigale V4 R in WorldSBK

Date posted on March 24, 2021

Pampanga Motorcyclyst Federation Thrilled by Castrol Power1 IR Club Wars

Date posted on March 29, 2020
General News

DILG Secretary Año Rides Motorcycle with Protective Shield

Date posted on August 7, 2020
Skip to toolbar