Vrei-ar Suba is YSS Masters Trophy and Underbone Open GP Champion

Date posted on May 5, 2022
Share this

The YSS Suspension Underbone Open class of the Alpinestars IRGPXIV was indeed a battle of the best underbone riders in the country.



Team JVT riders Kerwin Chang and Sean Barcial set up a blistering pace during the 8-lap race at the Tarlac Circuit Hill. The two crossed the finish line in first and second place. However, Barcial was relegated to fifth place due to jumpstart violation, while Chang was disqualified as his bike was not brought for scrutineering after the race. Despite the unfortunate result, Chang’s remarkable performance is still evident in the Motoworld Best Lap Time Award he received after registering the 1:07.679s fastest lap time of the race.



Kerwin Chang (99) and Sean Barcial (97)

Motoworld Fastest Race Lap awardee – Kerwin Chang

SEC-Yamaha-Phoenix racer Vrei-ar Suba who crossed the finish line third was declared as the champion. Suba’s consistency paid off as he also won the YSS Suspension Masters Trophy title which is given to the highest finishing above 24-year-old rider in the Underbone GP category of the IRGPXIV. Suba is now a multiple-time IRGP champion and proved once again he is formidable whether in riding underbones or scooters.


YSS Suspension Masters Trophy and Underbone Open GP Champion – Vrei-ar Suba of SEC-Yamaha-Phoenix

Multiple-time IRGP champion Vrei-ar Suba


Robert Ryan Espiritu of ZENEOS racing team was hailed as the second placer while polesitter Tracy Soyangco of FTR-PPZ racing team placed third. ZENEOS rider Masato Fernando got the fourth place while Eane Jaye Sobretodo of Suzuki-KIXX-VMan ended up at sixth place. Seventh placer was Dustin Esguerra who raced for TSMP-Beast racing team, replacing its injured rider Niel Jan Centeno. Extreme-One-JCP-RCB-Yamaha’s John Cloyde Pilapil had an eighth place result followed by Clifford Bacus of RS8-DrexLokoWorkz-Yamaha. Tenth placer was Roel Rubin while Moto-D Racing’s Clyde Relativo was not able to finish the race and was out after four laps.


Gille Pole Position winnner – Tracy Soyangco of FTR-PPZ racing team

Tracy Soyangco


Because of Suba’s victory, Manufacturers’ Award for this class was won by Yamaha Motor Philippines which has been dominating the IRGP for many years now.

Manufacturers’ Award of Yamaha Motor Philippines accepted by Mr. Jonathan Refugio

Thank you for visiting insideracing.com.ph. While you are here, kindly don’t forget to click on our advertiser ads above, visit their site and consider them for your motorcycling needs. It will help us a lot.

You can also order a copy of our monthly print magazine for more riding contents to read and enjoy at your leisure anytime by clicking here.

You may also express your thought below through the comment section. You may also follow us on Facebook, on Instagram @Insideracingnation or subscribe to our YouTube channel.