Yamaha Grand Prix 6 Finals

Date posted on September 29, 2015
Share this

InsideRACING Update: Yamaha Motor Philippines, Inc. (YMPH) has gone all over the country to find the most skilled and passionate racers. The climax of the annual Yamaha Grand Prix has ushered in a new breed of racers ready to show the Philippines that they have what it takes to carry the flag on the international racing scene.


John Emerson Inguito of Spec V

Racing through Sta. Rosa, Laguna; Malaybalay, Bukidnon; Naga,Cebu; and Baliwag, Bulacan to find the purest of local talent, they were gathered at the Carmona Race Track on September 27 for their shot at glory. For some of the racers, this was a return trip, another tour of duty for the country. Others looked to redeem themselves, a second shot at being part of the prestigious lineup that will be sent to an international race event. The rest, were the newcomers – riders that have yet to see their skills truly tested and are aching to prove they belong to the most elite in the Philippine racing arena and beyond.

IMG_4114 copy

Yamaha Motor Philippines and Yamaha Motor Japan officials with Yamaha Riding Academy Executive Instructor Yoshiaki Kato and actress Arci Muñoz

Entertainment off the track was also in full swing with Arci Muñoz gracing the event and hip-hop prodigy Abra putting on another spectacular performance for the audience. The event was also the stage to launch the YZF-R3, right where it started, on the racetrack. Yamaha Riding Academy Executive Instructor Yoshiaki Kato rode the YZF-R3 with Arci Muñoz in the racetrack.

IMG_4236 copy

YMPH officials with the overall winners of the Yamaha GP 6 who will represent the country in the R-Cup race in Indonesia

Winners in the Yamaha GP 6 Finals were John Emerson Inguito (Vega Force i Heat 1 and Heat 2), Dan Carlos (Sniper 150 MXi Heat 1 and Heat 2), Masato Fernando (YZF-R15 Heat 1 and Heat 2), Amber Torres (130 Automatic), Dustin Esguerra (160 Open), EJ Sobretodo (160 AT Novice), Angelo Portal (Underbone Interclub Race) and Maiko Adapon (AT Interclub Race).

Overall winners and representatives of the country in the R Cup race in Indonesia this October 31 to November 1 are Dan Carlos, Paul Mark Doblada, Masato Fernando, John Emerson Inguito, James Mendez, Aljon Valencia,Victor Laude, Arlan dela Cruz, Vingie Coloma and Axl Teves. They were selected from the Vega Force i, Sniper 150 MXi and YZF-R15 races.

The Yamaha Grand Prix may have reached its epic conclusion but it is the start of bigger things to come. The YZF-R3 will now be part of the Philippine racing culture. New kinds of racers will emerge, old champions revitalized. The next generation of Philippine riders have been revealed.

More pictures and details to be published in InsideRACING Magazine.